In many western countries there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the advantages and disadvantages to couples having no children?

The number of children a couple decide to have is a very important and yet private choice. People are increasingly opting to not have any children. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks associated with this approach. Looking firstly at the advantages, an often quoted one is the freedom for couples to pursue their careers. This is because parents and especially mothers often have to put their work commitments on hold to start a family. For example, it is common for women to take upto 2 years off from their jobs to take care of their kids. This time can be utilized to further their careers if they decide not to have kids. Another crucial advantage is saving money. The usual expenses associated with kids like money spent on clothes, toys, school and college fees etc is saved. Turning to the drawbacks of having no children, an obvious one is the lack of family life and support. This is because young ones provide love and companionship that is often lacking in the lives of childless couples. Another significant disadvantage is the inability for families to pass on their legacy, in terms of inherited traits, family values and finances. Indeed a large part of the gene pool would go extinct if majority of the population decides not to have any progeny. In many cultures, parents expect children to be a source of support and help near the end of their lives. Hence, another drawback of not having kids would be lack of emotional and financial support when they are sick and elderly. In conclusion, the decision not to have kids has it's own advantages and disadvantages as described above. All said and done, in the end this decision should lie with the prospective parents who can choose as they see fit.