Some people hesitate between getting a job and starting their own business. While the idea of not having a boss and working on one's own schedule may sound tempting, financial risks and stress sometimes outweigh these advantages. In your opinion what are the pros and cons of working in a company?

There has been a vast increase in the number of people starting their own businesses over the last decades, even though some achieve good success it might also cause heavy financial risk and stress. As a result, a lot of young people are wondering if they should find a job or start a business on their own. This essay will give you my opinion on the pros and cons of being employed in a company. Starting with the negative sides of working in a company, being self-employed gives an opportunity to have more flexible working hours as well as the responsibility of being charge of your own company. The ability to control your own workday can be a huge positive bonus for people starting their own business, research has shown that one of the most important factors to work satisfaction is to have influence on your working hours. Additionally, there can be an increased work excitement by having to start your own company from scratch. It also makes the person more responsible in their work and makes them less dependent on others to be successful. These factors are often contradictory to being employed. When looking at the positive features of working in a company, there is often a financial safety and a bigger work environment that can result in further skill development. Employed workers have the benefit of a consistent salary, paid vacation and a safety net if they would get fired. Furthermore, bigger companies often have many people working together, which requires cooperation that can increase and develop the employee’s knowledge and skills. In my experience are these financial safeties and the opportunity to have co-workers some of the most essential factors to get a job and can affect work satisfactory. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons of being employed, although I believe the positive features outweigh the negatives ones. Even though flexible working hours and self-independency are good advantages, they do not compete with the positive sides of having financial safety and the opportunity to have co-workers.