It is important that we maintain and protect the beautiful building of the past, even if it is expensive for countries to do so.

There have been discussions recently whether the government should use large sums of money to maintain old buildings of the past. Many people claim that this is an important task and the expenses shouldn’t matter. In this essay, I will give you my opinion and why I agree with this statement. To begin with, it costs tremendous amount of resources to maintain ancient and old buildings. Even though, it might seem inefficient economically to invest in the restoration and maintenance of these historical buildings, they have a lot of value for the culture. For instance, the Greeks are proud of their culture and they have a great interest in showing it through the historical buildings like the acropolis. These ancient structures give the people of Greece a common identity and a feeling of fellowship. Furthermore, surveys have shown that countries that have maintained many buildings of historical value also have a better understanding of their ancestry, which can be a great attribute in the perseverance of their culture. Additionally, keeping historical buildings intact can give huge boosts in tourism. Culture and history are two of the most important factors for tourists to choose their destination. For example, when Japan opened for foreign visitors to come in and see the temples from the Edo era, tourists swarmed to the country. Thus, there can be economical advantages in using money to protect old buildings of the past. In conclusion, I believe that the maintenance of historical building is important for cultural and historical identity, as well as it can have positive effects on the economy.