In many sub-continent countries like India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, Cricket has become more popular than the national sports of these countries.

Hailing from a country where a cricketer is popularly known as the God, I can certainly say that cricket has outshone all other sports in the sub-continental countries including the national sports. Because of the popularity of cricket, all the other sports are being neglected or less frequently played or enjoyed. Some of the reasons, in my opinion, are media coverage, the business involved in sports, training resources and government support, different format of the sport and success rate of those countries in international tournaments. First of all electronic and social media coverage has played an important role to make the cricket popular among the people in the sub-continental countries. In India and in other sub-continental countries, almost all national and international cricket matches are telecasted on several TV channels. Highlights of matches, cricket theme shows and interviews with the cricketers are very popular on TV. Because of this, people very seldom get a chance to know about other sports and are therefore largely unaware of them. Since the cricket teams in these countries do really well at the international level, people like to watch this sport more than they are interested in national sports. The huge success in international level is one of the most prominent reasons people in this continent like to play and watch this sport. Second, cricketers are treated as celebrities and they are role models for many young and aspiring cricketers. The amount of money they earn and the focuses they get on media are quite overwhelming.   Sachin Tendulkar, for example, is very commonly known as the God of cricket in India. His popularity is such that there have been riots in his name. Almost all the international cricket players have huge fans and cricketers from Indian subcontinents like Imran Khan, Tendulkar, Wasim Akram, Afridi, Kohli, Rahul Dravid, Muralidharan etc. have more fans and followers than we can imagine.   Therefore marketing companies pay them highly to endorse their products. Again, cricket is one of the highest paying sports in sub-continental countries. Money – award money, match winnings and income from endorsements of the products, is very high as compared to any other sport. So naturally, the youngsters are inclined towards playing cricket. Moreover, training resources and government support for cricket is far more than that of national sports in these countries. Considering the commercial factor and popularity of cricket, the government also provides better facilities and resources for cricket training. There are also several private clubs and coaching centres for aspiring cricketers and current players in all major cities. Even in schools, cricket is the most encouraged and widely played sport. Finally, different formats of the sport make it more attractive to audiences of all ages. Earlier cricket used to be a winter sport, but now it is played year round. Different formats like test matches, one-day international, T-20, premier leagues and the glamour attached to this sport have enhanced the popularity of cricket than the national sports of these countries. Even many renowned movie stars are now the owners of the cricket clubs and this has further accelerated the popularity of this sport. In conclusion, everybody wants to enjoy a sport that has glamour and excitement attached. Thus national sports in the Indian sub-continent have lost their popularity to a great extent while cricket has become the craze in the sports world.