Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in the sub-continental countries. What do you think are the reasons behind this?

Cricket is a game which is been followed by million of people around the world. It is very popular in some of the sub-continental countries like India. In India, cricket is given more importance than hockey, which is the national sports. In this essay, I will highlight the various reasons why cricket is more popular than the national sports in some countries. The most significant reason is that the sports authorities of certain countries give more budget for cricket and hence there are more facilities for cricket than the national sports. If certain people are interested in any other sports in such countries, then they would not find many playgrounds in their areas or cities. Another contributing factor is that the media supports cricket more than the national sports. Also, people prefer playing cricket as its easier and requires less stamina as compared to the national sports like football, hockey etc. For instance, I had a friend in Bangalore, India, who was interested in football. Although he couldn’t practice on a daily basis as the football ground was very far from his house. Furthermore, there are better coaches available in the field of cricket in such countries as compared to the coaches in the national sports. The last interesting reason is that cricket is supported through generations i. e. the father would teach his son about cricket and hence the national sports is never taught to the young children. For example, my father taught me cricket as he knew only that really well. In conclusion, cricket is a popular sport in certain sub-continental countries and thus the support for national sports in these countries is fading away. There are various reasons for why this is happening. However, there is a need for people to understand and encourage the national sports because there will be a time when some really good sports will not exist in the near future.