In many places prisons are overcrowded and expensive for governments to maintain Yet when offenders are released they end up back in prison a short while later Does prison work Should lawbreakers be rehabilitated or punished

Imprisonment is one of the most common forms of punishment in several countries. However, how effective this system is when a high percentage of prisoner’s relapse into crime once they are released into the community. From my point of view, sentencing criminals to time in prison fail in most cases. Undeniably, prison is the best place for offenders to rehabilitate. Firstly, in prisons, criminals are locked up and must take part in some reformed courses to become better ones or do community services for their society. Secondly, when being in prisons, people who commit an offense have more time to think about what they did and realize what they need to do instead of receiving prison sentences. Finally, the prison has a function to help innocent people have safety life. For example, if one-day prisons disappear, they will be scare about surrounding things, and criminals will threaten the safety of society anytime, anywhere. Life will be a terrible mess. However, depending on levels of crime and groups of ages, it exists a few suitable punishments. If a criminal is just a teenager, he or she will be rehabilitated in re-education camps. For those who engage in major crime like killing, rape, treason, the government should impose several stricter punishments. A death sentence or life imprisonment is a proper punishment for offenders putting society in danger. Based on the law, other offenders face different levels of punishment. For example, a person who commits an aggravated robbery with the use of a weapon should be punished from one to five years in prison. In conclusion, I understand that criminals posing a threat to society cannot be allowed to roam freely, or perhaps prison is not the only restricted way. So, the severity of the crime committed should be taken into consideration before deciding on the punishment.