In many parts of the world, the incidence of crimes for young people is increasing. Why is this case happening? How should children or teenagers be punished?

It is a common notion that the more developed a country becomes, the more criminal cases it has to cope with, specifically those caused by young people. There are a number of reason leading to this and thus some solutions should be proposed to tackle this problem. To begin with, the root cause of young criminals is highly likely associated with the modern family structure where there is poor family bonding. Perhaps due to the high living standard, parents have to work extra hours thus spending less time supervising or expressing sympathetic towards their children. As a result, the young minds suffer from degradation in mental health, which can be seen in abusive homes or single-parent households. Such adults seem to lack of parenting skills. Another cause should be taken into account is the growing popularity of violent trends on social media or in video games. Many online games, in fact, include the act of carrying guns or weapons to shoot and fight against enemies. This casts a huge impact on the premature brains of young children as they tend to imitate their surrounding incidents and might commit crimes in real life. Therefore, several measures should be implemented to prevent this serious issue. First, participating in community service allows young criminals to compensate damage for the society to some extent. This approach would force them to be more aware of their illegal behaviors which leaves not only them but also many other people suffering from consequences, in some cases fatal incidents. In addition, they rather be sent to stay in a juvenile detention facility in an attempt to reshape their perceptions. At there, extra lessons about social skills and behavioral management will be given as either a remedy or a punishment. When receiving intense treatment and counselling, the juveniles have a chance to redeem their mistakes and avoid repeating offending in the future. In conclusion, once the reasons for increasing crimes among young people, suitable solutions are suggested to address this problem. In my opinion, measures relating to self-awareness are potential in preventing this incidence to occur.