In many developing countries, there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction, causing high levels of water and air pollution. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

With the rapid growth of industrialization and construction industry, water and air pollution have become major concerns for many developing countries. In my opinion, using modern technologies and enforcing strict pollution control laws are crucial for improving the situation. One of the causes of water pollution is the discharging of sewage water into the rivers and oceans without any treatment. The sewage water contains harmful bacteria which can bring serious threat to the aquatic life. In an effort to prevent these issues, modern technologies like sewage water treatment plant can be used to treat sewage water for recycling and reuse the treated water for domestic purpose. This will not only reduce sewage disposal issues but also solve the problem of water shortage. For example, developed countries like USA have an impeccable system which not only treats sewage water for disposal purpose, but also recycles in such a way that they can use it for normal domestic purpose. In other words, modern technologies ought to be used for reducing water pollution. Besides water, air has also some grave issues. One of the main causes of air pollution is a huge amount of debris generated from construction sites. Air pollution has affected not only flora and fauna, but also humans. In order to eradicate air pollution, the government must implement stringent environmental policies for construction sites. For example, in order to get an interim commencement certificate the developer must seek approval from the environmental department, which regulates the air pollution level for construction sites. This will ensure that construction sites do not generate harmful waste and preventive actions are taken to alleviate air pollution. In short, stringent policies which regulate pollution levels at sites can help to reduce air pollution. To conclude, advanced technologies and stern policies are necessary to prevent further deterioration of air and water quality.