In many countries, women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people think that this is because they are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security marriage can bring.

The fact that a significant number of women are living without a spouse has ratcheted up public interest in what has been driving this change. Although some believe that being allowed to work outside the home to earn money is the driving factor behind it, the impact of being financially independent pales in comparison with that of the shift in social values that liberate women. Firstly, the freedom of choice, especially when it comes to marital choices, that women now enjoy has contributed much more to the change mentioned in the question than the financial factor. Traditionally, as soon as a girl reached matrimony age, her parents would arrange her marriage to shift the “burden” to other families or do so as a transaction in its most naked sense. This could be seen in the way single women aged twenty and over would be resented by their own parents and how they would be forced to marry “the highest bidder” without any regard to their feelings or wishes. Although the latter could provide them with financial security, given the choice, not many of them would have agreed to such a pre-arranged marriage, as we see in present-day society. To add further credence to my assertion, I note the shift away from the traditional role of women, as housewives. As they are now empowered to carry out the role of a breadwinner, many opt to stay single to pursue their career goals, rather than being confined to taking care of children and doing chores. Granted, this change in gender role underpins their financial independence, but primarily the time and effort dedicated to education and work often take women’s mind of the idea of getting married as they often feel that they do not have enough time to start and care for a family. This means that the financial factor is only a by-product of a wider social movement towards gender equality. In conclusion, being able to ensure their financial security is a manifestation of a wider change in our society that allows women to choose when and even whether to get married at all.