In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring.

Owing to the independent culture these days, females prefer to stay single for their entire life. A better part of society thinks that this is because they are self dependent, and hence, monetary safety through marriage is no longer considered by them. I agree with the above notion, but only to a certain extent. Though, self-reliance on earning plays a prominent role in taking this decision, work and family aspects can be the deciding factor. One of the main reasons that money is considered as a vital factor while deciding not to get married is that in yesteryears, due to conservative culture, females were not allowed to study or work. So they had no say while choosing a life partner and had to compromise. Also, they had to depend on their husband or in-laws for their basic and monetary needs. Another reason that can be mentioned here is that being able to earn gives a boost to their self-worth, which in turn, helps them to gain confidence. And it is this confidence that helps them to make life changing decisions in a better way. Furthermore, this self-worth helps them to create an impact in their social life, because of which they are thought as an esteemed figure and people aspire to be like them. Having said that, there are some other factors too that women keep in mind before taking this decision. One of them is work. Females these days are well educated and even they dream to become successful in their respective field. Work is of utmost importance to them and hence, it comes first. In some cases, these ladies work so hard their entire life to get a particular job, that there is nothing as important to them as that job. Another factor that needs a limelight is family. No matter what, women are not ready to get separated from their close ones. While one reason for this can be that they are bound to stay with their family as they are the ones responsible to look after their family members, another reason for this could be the love and affection they get from their own family, which they think they may not get from the in-laws. To conclude, though, no one can deny the fact that self-dependence has led female fraternity to stay single, important factors like their job and family have also contributed in this change.