Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

To expand our knowledge in certain areas of study, market and educational sphere we need to spread the existing accomplishments as wide as we can. However, many claim that latest researches should not be disclosed as it might be beneficial to keep it private. Personally, I am inclined to believe that interdisciplinary collaboration can lead us to brighter and faster results. Freely shared information is a key to success in the modern world as it encourages instant cooperation between various fields of activities which is crucial to achieve remarkable progress. If academic institutions provide their resources to the research centres that support businesses, the whole production chain will be transformed for the better. Indeed, when companies are able to access recent scientific innovation, they rise creativity and contribute some practical improvements. For example, using Google data about network users, businesses can build their marketing strategy in a more efficient way aiming at the target audience. Nevertheless, this kind of information is a valuable asset that can be sold or used in other commercial or special purposes. Sharing private evidences may cause financial distress for the firm because third party players can take advantage of it. Likewise, researchers do not have any incentive to reveal their findings to the companies as subsequently manufacturers will receive benefits from a new invention, whereas scientists will not get any profits. In spite of this fact, I am firmly convinced that working alongside and sharing knowledge are not subject to trade and manipulate with. Developed countries tend to support the free flow of information that might be beneficial for society. As an example, online learning platform Coursera is assisted by the American government as well as leading universities and companies. By providing their knowledge to the general public, they encourage people from all around the world to enhance progress. To summarize, I would like to mention that keeping back information might be a valid point if we put profits above the global development. However, only by collaboration and working together, it is possible to move forward. It will have a larger overall impact on the world.