In many countries, women are able to join the armed forces now on the equal basis of men. However, some people think only men should be members of the army, navy and air force.

Stepping into the 21st century, women have embarked on different careers in all walks of life and have become a pivotal role in the world development. However, whether military conscription should only be applicable to men or not has long been debated without conclusive conclusion. As for me, it is my fervent conviction that women merit equal recognition and serious considerations in the military forces. To commence with, there is a counter-argument that women are physically less advantaged in comparison with men. In this sense, exposure to tough work in the military may plague women and physical injuries are thus well-documented in many cases. However, since human is enjoying one of the greatest technological boom times, advancement in the field of military means that a higher premium is being placed on other skills that women are undoubtedly capable of, not just physical strength. It is evident that women are blessed with intellectual and cognitive skills, which are of enormous importance to the forces. Paradoxically, some women who are qualified are kept out of the military. Another reason why women should participate in the armed force is rooted in the fact that such move can serve as a spirited fightback against the on-going inequality among men and women. There is no disputing the fact that as life has become increasingly more sophisticated compared to the primitive time, the line between jobs targeted at men and that at women is blurred and should not be made clear-cut. It is no exaggeration to say that entitling a particular task to a subject is unaligned with the philosophy of the contemporary society and can represent a setback in human evolution. In conclusion, the idea that woman cannot serve in the armed force is inarguably fallacious and unfounded. Conversely, it would, without doubt, be more advisable for military conscription to be based on social, physical and psychological ground, rather than gender.