Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Recently, the world is searching for new sources of energy, and among the many candidates, solar energy seems to be gaining popularity. Solar power is being increasingly utilised in households across the world mainly because it’s a clean source of energy, and it’s easy to obtain and distribute. Solar energy is not perfect however, it still has its pros and cons, and in this essay, I will discuss some of them. On the bright side, solar power doesn’t require the burning of fossil fuels, which is a huge advantage in a world suffering from global warming and the greenhouse effect. Moreover, in order to obtain electricity from solar energy, massive power-plants are not needed, relatively small solar panels placed on the roof of each house, or next to it are all that is required. In addition to that, as the solar panels become more popular, electricity bills are expected to drop in the long run. As for the disadvantages of using solar energy, one may argue that solar panels are not efficient, and would not produce enough energy to cover the needs of a relatively larger household. This, however, is not a problem because, as with every successful invention, the technology develops and efficiency increases over time. For example, when computers were first invented, it took a room's space of machines to store data, whereas now, the same amount of data is stored on a flash drive that fits in one's pocket. Another disadvantage is that solar panels could be a fuss to install, or that it may inconvenience an entire neighbourhood to switch from conventional power supplying methods to using solar energy. That, in my opinion, is not an issue; since this inconvenience is only temporary, while the results on the other hand, would last forever. In conclusion, I believe that solar energy is a gigantic step for mankind. This is because the disadvantages of solar energy are only temporary, while the advantages that solar energy brings are huge, and much needed in our world.