In many countries today, people in cities live alone or in small family units, rather than family groups.

It is true that people in modern world nowadays tend to stay by their own or in nuclear families. From my perspective, this phenomenon has both advantage and drawbacks. On the one hand, the raise of smaller households is advantageous due to several reasons. Firstly, in individual scale, people who live alone will be more mature, independent and self-reliant compared to those who stay with family members. Because of the self-catering life, they have more opportunities to expose to the outside society and gain various soft-skills throughout real experiences in different situations. For example, students who live in campus have to do household chores by themselves and learn to manage their budget which are all valuable life skills. Secondly, in economic scale, this trend is a perfect adaptation to the shortage of accommodations in mega cities. The migration of people from rural to urban areas burden on the household stocks which has been an unsolvable problem in cities. If they do not want to endure squalid housing condition, therefore, it is obviously necessary to live alone or in small groups. On the other hand, there are negative aspects of this trend. With the mass population shift to big cities, ties of kinship are broken as the extended family in countryside is broken up. As a result, reunions will take place only occasionally and the family budget can not be shared with other inmates living under the same roof. For instance, grandparents can support with children-carring, cooking and household expenditure which will help young parents save time and money to balance between work and house. Furthermore, people who live alone may experience the feeling of loneliness, worry and isolation. They miss out the daily conservation between family members and lack of emotional support which is essential especially in stressful period. In conclusion, I think that positive and negative impacts of the increase in the number of small households are equal due to both individual and social reasons.