In many countries today people, in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large extended family groups. Is this a positive or a negative trend?

In the modern era, people from several nations have adopted to reside in solitude or very restricted family units, instead of big, nuclear family groups. This essay will argue on both the positions and state if it is perceived as a good or bad trend with examples. Firstly, it is witnessed around the globe that people are inclined to prefer living as single or as a small family unit. The reason this trend is increasingly observed these days is, because of the fact that people prefer increase private time and it becomes difficult to squeeze this time when more number of people are around all the time. For example, in the UK, where a majority of residents live in one small home, are shifting to single apartments or studio flat where they have ample time to commit themselves for private space without any hindrance. The argument for this position is thus clear. Contrary to this, there are individuals who adhere to live with their whole family in a single residence. People with this mindset are usually more social and for them family time is more important than their own personal time. For instance, in South Asia, the majority of the population find themselves comfortable living together in the same house due to strong cultural influence and history. The reason for this preference are well explained in this paragraph. Thus, in light of these arguments, I believe living together in a same house is beneficial over residing alone in separate apartment or house because, in case of getting ill or in an emergency, there is always someone nearby to respond to you immediately and quick measures can be taken on time.