In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this modern era, city living is becoming modular by the day. More and more families split up and try to live in smaller units or individuals move out from the bigger families. Many believe that living in a small family a more sustainable and less expensive in comparison to living with large group. On the contrary, there are groups and people who argue that having a big family provides the essential support system. In my opinion, living in a small family is the right way to go in today’s world. Big and extended families always portray a happy picture. This is because one always have people around that forms their support system and you can lean on them whenever required. Moreover, living in a big family allows you to learn from each other, especially the elders. For example, children who grow up in a joint family with grandparents have a really good knowledge of food and produce. They also have many ancient folklore to tell, which have been passed on from generations. For these reasons, living with a large family is beneficial. Despite the above benefits, large group deprives one of their independence and space and some people really need their own space to grow in life. Thus, they prefer living in smaller units. Another reason why people are living alone or in a small family is because by doing so they are able to cut down their real estate cost and other utility bills. A study from Harvard University shows that people who grow up alone or in a small family are forty percent more self reliant compared to the ones who live in with a large group. Overall, a small family is less expensive and provides a self learning environment. Finally, finding a place for a large family with in the city is not only tough but really costly affair. Therefore, living is a small family is the smart thing to do. I firmly believe that small families are happy families because everyone has their own space and privacy, which are essential for an individual’s growth.