In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

It is true that in most countries the population of the elderly is increasing slowly due to the advancement in the medical field. In my opinion, this has a negative impact on society due to the extra burden on government expenditures and lack of opportunity to a younger population. On the one hand, the overpopulation of older people will create a burden on the government. To elucidate, most government collect the fund from the other citizens in the form of tax and it is used for the development of the nations. For example, if such fund is allocated on the well-being of older people by giving well-equipped hospitals and retirement houses to live then such government has to collect extra taxes from other people to maintain the budget of the country. As a result, the younger population has to pay extra taxes to the government, which creates a negative impact on society. On the other hand, the population of such countries will be soaring. It is evident that population of older people is increasing day by day in the most nations due to the advancement in technology and medical science, which means that younger people do not get the opportunity to prove their talent. For instance, if the X generation does not retire from the job, then the millennial generation will not get the chance, resulting in an increase in unemployment. Thus, the increase in the rate of unemployment creates a detrimental effect on the country. In conclusion, although there is a great advancement in the medicine, an increase in the population of the older generation not only does it create an extra burden on the government by taking care of them but also increases the rate of unemployment by not giving an opportunity to young people.