In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

It is undeniably true that the population of the elderly is gradually accelerating due to improvement in science and the medical field. Some believe it is a positive development, in my opinion, this trend has many deleterious effects on society as it increases the burden on a family member and government and less opportunity to youngsters. The first negative impact of increasing life expectancy of the elderly is on both government as well as family. To elucidate, older people require personal care and proper medication from their family. However, they are often being ignored by them due to the weak financial background. Similarly, the government has to spend in the hospital with latest equipped machines and homage to stay for elderly, which means that government has to collect funds from citizens by raising the amount of tax to cover such taxes. Another reason why the life expectancy of the elderly is a negative development is a few job prospects for youngsters. Due to advancement in medical treatment older people work relentlessly in the same company for many years, this resulting in youngsters have less job opportunity. For example, a recent study by the Times of India in March 2019 showed that despite having an international degree, many youngsters are unemployed as the majority of aging people have been working in MNCs’. In conclusion, although the increasing age of the elderly is to be considered a positive trend by some, I believe it is a negative development because not only does it increase pressure on family members and government but also it restricts better job prospects for the young generation.