In many countries the proportion of older people is increasing. Could this have more positive or negative effects on society?

In some countries, the number of elderly people experiences an increase in recent decades. It is undeniable that the issue has some benefits and drawbacks on society, but I think it has more disadvantages which I am going to explain below. Older people have been appreciated as the valuable resource to their communities as they are the witness of the history and they have wide range of knowledge, practice and experience. Moreover, when the young family members are busy at work, they can be good companions to their kids and teach, take care as well. Additionally, it shows how the government has provided its population with better economic and medical conditions, as in this country, the life expectancy is high. Some sectors, like teaching, research, medicine require extensive experience and older people can contribute to these fields. In spite of positive values, the growing number of senior citizens also has some negative consequences. Firstly, if the amount of old people increases, the government will have to allocate a higher budget to retirement houses and medical services. And these funds are gained from the taxes we pay. Secondly, older people demand more attention, extra care and money because of what they are often ignored by their relatives. Lastly, they are not able to do much manual labour, that's why they are less productive to the society compared to the youngsters. In conclusion, despite some advantages, increasing the quantity of senior people in a country has more disadvantages. I believe that every country should focus on maintaining a balanced ratio for the population in order to avoid an adverse effect on economic growth.