In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

Criminals are a menace to our society and it is a matter of concern that the crime rate has increased dramatically in many countries. In this essay, I will discuss the main reasons of crimes and propose some solutions to combat the problem. First of all, the main reason behind the prevalence of crime is poverty as most of the people in developing countries are daily wagers, and they have to struggle for their bread. Out of hunger, some people start doing petty thefts at shops and cars, and by the time some of them become gangsters. A study conducted by a University in Denmark revealed that the children growing up in poverty are seven times more likely to be involved in violent crimes as young adults. Another cause is the over-ambitious nature of some individuals. In other words, some people keep an eye on other's wealth, and they become so desperate that they follow any illegal path to attain it. To tackle this problem, the first and foremost step is strict law and order. Incorruptible law enforcement authorities could help in converting a dangerous zone into safer region. For example, the US has a crime-rate of only 2% as compared to Somalia, whose crime-rate is 50% due to strict implementation of rules by the former. Secondly, governments should increase employment opportunities so that every individual could earn their living. Thus, the poor would not be compelled to do misdeeds to fulfil their minimum necessities. In conclusion, although the problem of crime is not insurmountable, I believe that it is the government's responsibility to solve these issues, and they should begin by considering some of the solutions proposed above.