In many countries, the gap between the rich and poor is increasing. The rich people are becoming richer while the poor is growing poorer.

The widening gap between the rich and the poor seems to be an increasingly bigger threat that the worldwide nations are facing in recent decades. And I think individuals, governments and powerful companies are all responsible for this. One of the primary causes of the accelerated growth of economic inequality is due to modern technological progress. In order to create the largest wealth by costing the least, employers are motivated to increasingly concentrate on non-human factors of production, including super-automation, robotics, digital computerised operations, machines, tools, etc. , which to a large degree reduces the rate of labour employment as well payment. However, considering the fact that technology development will never cease to march forward, it brings about another vital factor - education and qualified working skills. Except for a very small group of lazy people, most in poverty have been working hard so badly, yet ending up with far less payment. Nevertheless, this can be significantly improved by getting them re-educated or trained, which means the government should carry out such constructive policies as increasing the minimum wage and more investment in education and training, to ensure poor group sharing equal opportunities of education and getting hired and paid. Meanwhile, powerful corporations should take responsibilities to reduce poverty, for example, by providing scholarships or creating more job opportunities for those in need. As for individuals, one should seize each opportunity to get themselves armed with modern working skills and keep updated with the latest technology. Anyway, this is now a social issue in general rather than a personal problem. Only with the strength of the whole society with efficient government will we see the chance to reduce the gap.