In films and computer games violence has become more popular. Some people think this has negative effects on society, other think it is harmless relaxation.

Pupils can accomplish more in school if they are praised rather than reprimanded. In my opinion, I strongly agree with rewarding students because this can motivate them. Firstly, this essay will discuss the advantages in recognising student achievement and secondly, how a reward system can affect student learning. On the one hand, praising students and recognising their achievements, whether to the class or whole school can install enthusiasm and motivation in the student to progress further. The students may push themselves, to do more and achieve higher because they know that it brings rewards, either in the form of praise from a teacher or in other rewards, like school visits. For instance, The Department of Education in the UK in 2017 reported that 98% of public school teachers often used reward systems to motivate their students in the class. On the other hand, having a reward system in place can bring about competition between students, to get higher grades than their peers. This can motivate learners to study more and participate in class, in order to get whatever reward is on offer. If the student can gain an accolade for their project or from participating in school activities, they are more likely to work harder. For instance, a school in Sheffield in the UK offered a reward to a group of students who participated in the 2017 international science fair, promising a visit from a well-known speaker for their next lecture if they won first prize. In my opinion, I strongly believe that rewarding students is far better than punishing them. This is a very effective tool in gaining the trust of the students and motivating them to learn. They are more likely to be an active member of the class when they know a reward is possible. For example, in my own experience, a school teacher I had used chocolate and candy rewards in class, during activities that required whole class participation. This greatly excited the students as they all wanted a treat to enjoy in class. In conclusion, learning should be fun and punishments can be demotivating at times, this can scar a student for a long time. Schools should definitely introduce praise and reward giving in exchange for increased student participation and motivation.