In many countries television shows many foreign -made programmes. The dominance to the imported entertainment is harmful to the culture of these countries. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

The programs telecasted in television that are made abroad, are becoming more and more popular nowadays. This type of entertainment expressing foreign cultures leads to the extinction of local culture. In my opinion, these imported shows have had adverse impacts on culture and this essay will discuss the argument in detail. Firstly, imported programs are enriched with the culture of the country that are created from. As such depiction persuades the viewers to adopt the foreign culture, most of them started to behave in a way that is shown in those shows. For example, change in the dressing sense, especially in modern India, people prefer wearing western clothes to the traditional dresses. Hence, the habit of traditional dressing is slowly vanishing from common usage, primarily due to the attraction from the western shows. Secondly, invasion of foreign programs deter the growth of local shows. With the high-quality production, viewers are interested in watching programs that are imported neglecting their own country productions. This results in the poor development of locally produced shows which are used to enhance native culture. If native programs promoting their own culture were telecasted, people would watch and learn to follow their culture and eventually preserving innate culture. Critics would claim that these invaded programs pave the way to globalization. This might be true to some extent, however, I argue that cultural diversity will be spoilt. For instance, people from various countries would adapt to single cultured living unless this intrusion is restricted in television programs. In conclusion, I believe that imported shows should be given less importance, and by prohibiting the exposure of foreign culture in those particular shows, people will consider them as a purely entertaining object. Thus, one’s culture exploited by foreign originated programs must be controlled.