The world has seen an enormous increase in flights for leisure, business and commercial purposes around the world over recent years.

Due to globalisation, a paradigm shift of people's lifestyle and expansion of tourism and international commerce, cheap and frequent flights all around the world is quite common nowadays which offers both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I shall examine both positive and negative aspects of such flights before drawing a reasonable conclusion. With regards to advantages, frequent flights have made the air travel affordable for many and as a consequence, more people can enjoy the fast and flexible journey. Increasing flights also expand the tourism and business opportunities and thus indirectly creates more job opportunities. Moreover, people have more places to visit, venture in new business opportunities, avail advanced medical facilities in developed countries and learn more by travelling. The frequent travels, in a way, reduce the cultural gaps among people of different countries and bring nations together. Last but not least, many multinational companies can run their operations smoothly across cities due to easily-available air travel and this has a direct impact on creating more employment scopes. On the other hand, detrimental effects of the rapid increase in air travel cannot be ignored. The amount of air pollution it causes is quite alarming. A single flight emits a huge amount of carbon dioxide to the air contributing to the greenhouse effect. Furthermore, airports in cities hamper the peace of local people and increase the possibility of terrorist attacks. Many experts suggest that one way to check the negative consequences of increasing air travel is to impose more tax. Though this might seem a reasonable solution, I, however, disagree. More effective solutions like introducing eco-friendly jet fuel and tight security should be in place rather than increasing the tax which would only burden mass people to pay more for their travel. To conclude, ever-increasing air travel has some negative outcomes like air and sound pollution and threat to the national security. However, imposing a heavy tax is not a viable solution to this and cheap and frequent flights have facilitated people in many ways which are a timely demand of modern people.