In many countries television shows many foreign -made programmes. The dominance to the imported entertainment is harmful to the culture of these countries.

In the era of globalisation Television media is the single most influential entity in the world and India has also been shipped shaped by it. Evidently, in my opinion international programmes have made a paradigm shift in the social culture in a propitious way due to various reasons. Firstly, Gender Equality. Albeit, supporters often argue that western programmes are detrimental to the traditional culture of countries on the contrary, in India these programmes enabled transformation in mindset of Indian citizens. Women career oriented shows like, “The bold Type” “Opera Winfrey show” has broadened the thinking pattern of the Indian society. This can be seen by the fact that in past females were not allowed to earn and their role was more of a house caretaker whereas, now they stand shoulder to shoulder with men in all walks of life. Secondly, Open Minded culture. India was conservative country as far as famine fashion style is concerned, women were not allowed to western clothes such as trouser, shirts, short dress, but with influence of international programmes native citizens understood the prominence of western clothes and have become modernised, which in return made them more acceptable to the world. There is proven research conducted by corporate world Magazine that 99% of Indian working women wear western formal wear than Indian Ethnic. Lastly, Change in Social relationship. The famous US series “friends” with highest TRP & the maximum viewer ship in India has major contribution in the evolution of social relationship pattern in India. This program has shown different natures of relationships. Previously, in India marriage was considered to be the only way to stay with your partner, whereas, in the recent years majority of Indians have considered “Live in” relationship to be more promising than getting marriage. To summarize, as there are two sides of the same coin, international programmes have that too. Television media dominance cannot be considered as threats until they make citizens distant from their cultural roots or become a threat to the nation. Nevertheless, if it does Government’s participation would be helpful so that they can eliminate the programmes which have negative effects on the citizen of the country.