News Stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

There is no doubt that, the upcoming shows on the television and the print media have pictures in them. A few individuals opine that, the visuals have more impact than the words in these media sources. I agree with the above statement to a greater extent and I will support the same with some relevant examples. To begin with, the pictorial and the graphical depiction of the news stories have immediate effects and can even cheer up the mood of the people. When we are watching the news on TV, it greatly impacts our minds rather than the titles written at the bottom. For an illustration, the photo on the front page of the newspaper of a child crying in the flood-affected area tells us about the sordid tale or the rough conditions being faced by the individuals in the particular area. Further, the motion pictures possess a long-lasting effect on the brain, and one can retain more by seeing the pictures. Evidently, the visualization impacts a lot and forces a reader or the viewer to watch the same till the end. Furthermore, the pictures usually possess a large impact on reading the article. While reading a magazine or a newspaper one reads the whole article if the photo is appealing depicting the same. For instance, it is believed that, if the picture of our favourite actor is printed in the media, it forces the reader to read the whole article related to the same. Without the images the taste of reading is not built, and sometimes a fashion-related image tells about the trend going on without looking at the words underneath. Thus, it is evident that, the photos influence the perspectives of the masses. On the downside, I feel that, the images which are accompanied by the confidential and sensitive subjects should not be shared on television, as they can result in the misuse of the same by the criminals. To conclude, although the advertisements with the sordid content can result in some criminal activities, the merits of the above statement outweigh the demerits, As it cheer up the mood of the people while reading or watching the stories and soothes their intellect. If used judiciously it can be advantageous for all concerned.