In many countries people like to eat a wide variety of food that are grown in other areas As a result they eat more food produced in other regions than local food Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

Over the past decades, daily diet has become more diversified than before with a wider range of food imported from other regions. Many people nowadays prefer food transported from other areas to locally produced food. While this tendency is gaining currency and has several benefits, I am the opinion that its drawbacks are more considerable for the following reasons. On the one hand, it is noteworthy that there are some advantages of consuming imported food. Firstly, this trend can increase the varieties of food, thereby guaranteeing the sufficient intake of nutrition. For instance, those who live in cold areas where extreme weather poses various difficulties to farming activities can consume fruits that are grown in tropical area, striking a balance between the consumption of meat and fiber. Secondly, this development could encourage bilateral trading activities between different regions. For example, a country or region can focus on the manufacturing industrial products and exchange them with others, which is consistent with the global trend of specialization. On the other hand, notwithstanding the above mentioned benefits, I would argue that it will be a grievous mistake to disregard its pitfalls. One of its potential harms is that to prolong fruit longevity, especially that of perishable agricultural products, preservatives are commonly used in food processing, which poses a risk to consumer’s health, as these additives may contain some detrimental substances. In addition, another problem that should be taken into account is that excessive consumption of exotic fruits and ignoring the possibility of developing industrialized farming may disable a country from achieving food security or self-sufficiency. A telling example is Norway, statistics have shown that increasing preference to imported food has made this country heavily dependent on food supply from neighboring countries. In conclusion, although there are some undeniable advantages of eating imported food, it is a grave mistake to overlook intangible problems as discussed above.