2. In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

In many countries of today, a lot of people live in a wasteful society such that materials used are being disposed just after a very short while of usage. This could be happening due to the fact that most of these people live a selfish lifestyle and are ignorant of the negative effects this could cause such as environmental pollution and an expensive economy. To begin, one of the causes why people are responsible for the wastage in a society is that they are self-centered and do not want to share their materials with others. Instead of giving it to people who could manage a second-hand material, they prefer to dispose them off and get new ones. Another cause is that most of these people are likely not to be aware of the negative effects of throwing things away. They are also ignorant of the importance of recycling products such that instead of throwing things away and making the environment unhealthy, they could easily take it to the company for a recycle. These are few possible factors amongst others that is responsible for a wasteful society. Furthermore, this trend can have some negative effects on the individual themselves and the general economy of the country. Firstly, most of these people tend to throw things away indiscriminately on the streets which could lead to environmental pollution. This in turn makes the environment unhealthy and is likely to cause diseases such as diarrhoea. Secondly, when things are not being recycled, very likely, the cost of producing new product doubles. As a result, people might have to spend more to purchase things in the market, hence, a more likely expensive economy emerges. These are few problems that could occur as a result of a throwing thing away indiscriminately. In conclusion, being wasteful is becoming a popular trend and this is happening as a result of a selfish and ignorant lifestyle of the people. As such, problems possibly arising includes, an unhealthy environment and an expensive economy.