In many countries people are having health problems because they choose to live a unhealthy life. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Education and knowledge have now become a very powerful and a vital tool globally. Some say higher education should be made free of charge while the others believe it should not be. I am in favour of the latter, as I strongly believe that, by charging for higher studies will ensure money spent on a student does not go to waste. To begin with, In my opinion all students should be given the opportunity in education while ensuring the money spent is re-payed back. To put it differently, regardless of the family financial background or the social status all pupils who pass out from high schools should be given an equal opportunity to enter and pursue higher studies. This will ensure that no one is left out and also these students will get a chance of a lifetime. However, the governments should make sure during this period pupils can learn with a free mind and come out as graduate who can enter the local workforce. The money owed to the government could then be re-payed back as an instalment scheme. For example, government of Australia has a similar structure of their education system. This will be a financially viable option for the government to maintain a high education standard and also ensure the tax payers money is well spent. However, others who oppose the above argument say that, young students will already be in debt even before they start their adult life. While I agree with this argument, I also believe that if pupils get full-free education that they will abuse and will not have a value for what has been given to them. With the government repayment structure, students will learn attributes such as, to be focused, taking responsibility and above all they will learn that their actions may have detrimental consequences in the future. For instance, although education is completely free in Sri Lanka a portion of university students have been going on a picketing campaign asking for more free benefits from the government which I think is absurd. In conclusion, I strongly believe that education should not be free and by charging, the governments can ensure quality of education is kept at higher levels as well as ensure that tax payers money is well spent on. The money spent on each individual student, however, should be earned back in latter stage in life, especially when they can stand on their own.