In many countries nowadays, young single people no longer stay with their parents until they are married, but leave to study or work somewhere else. Do you think this trend has more advantages or disadvantages?

In the past, young people only left home once they got married. Nowadays, though, youngsters tend to leave earlier. While there might be some disadvantages to this phenomenon, I believe that its benefits far outweigh them. There are two reasons why young people should not leave home earlier. Firstly, not all youngsters are ready to live away from home. An example of this would the type of people that are easily influenced by friends. Such people might lack the ability to resist their friends' temptation to get involved in dangerous situations, such as drug abuse. Secondly, parents would have to experience empty nest syndrome sooner than expected. This might be even more pronounced since they worry whether their children are mature enough to live on their own. Despite the plausible drawbacks, I think there are more advantages that can be obtained. One of them is that young people would sooner be more independent and reliable. Since they could no longer rely on their parents, they have to depend on themselves. For instance, they would learn to do household chores, which they might not have learnt otherwise. In addition, the parents-children relationship is likely to improve once both parties experienced living apart. Young adults might realise just how much they miss their parents, whom they might have taken for granted all this time. Thus, both sides are likely to make extra efforts to treat each other better. Besides, parents would have more time to take care of themselves once their children left home. The bond between the husband and the wife can even deepen this way. In conclusion, while I agree that there might be some drawbacks to the trend of young adults leaving their home earlier, I believe that there are more advantages to it. Thus, parents should let their children live away from home, even way before their marriage.