In many countries, more money is spent on transport system in the cities. In contrast, very little is spent in rural areas. What are the effect of this and What can be done to solve this problem.

Nowadays, road systems in the rural areas have lower budget compared to cities. The effects of this can be harmful to individuals living on the rural side and so, solutions, such as proper budgeting and planning, to control this problem can be done. There are two main problems that can occur if transportation systems in remote areas continue with low costs. Firstly, a little money spent on this today could cause higher cost of maintenance in the future. This is because using of low budget construction materials to roads can be more prone to damage over time, thus, could result to more spending later on. Secondly, poorly maintained roads due to budget cuts can cause severe traffic that can lead to delays of food and supplies. An example would be the roads in the Philippines. City transports are highly maintained that they don't have to deal with this problem, but the far-flung areas get the commodities late due to tight roads with single lanes, making it hard for trucks to travel. If this continues, there could be scarcity of such goods, which will be a serious problem for the population. Nevertheless, ways to solve the problem of spending lesser in the transportation system within the countryside are manageable. One would be with the assistance of the government, in which, they could help by properly allocating money for this matter. Increasing the budget for this can ensure smooth travels to and from the rural places and help decrease the wasted spendings in the long run. Another step to reduce this problem is to have a planning committee in the rural area communities to voice-out concerns regarding their road problems. Having this core team can be helpful in managing and planning out what steps to take in order to control traffic and transport issues around their area, increasing their social bond as well. In conclusion, there can be two serious problems that can arise from spending lesser money for the transportation system in rural areas, but solutions such as increasing the budget allocation by the government and having a committee for road problems per community can be applied to help mitigate this issue.