In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

When it comes to food there are many options to choose from and they have vast inclination towards the consumption of food from other countries. However majority of the people tend to opt for food that is exported from other areas than buying the food that is processed locally. Certainly there are many driving forces behind this some of them are curiosity to try out international cuisines and affordable cost. There are many things that can be done to promote the locally produced food items such as eliminating food taxes and organizing competitions to promote chemical free local items. The essay will discuss the forth points said. With regards to the internationally processed food, there are many reasons why people tend to buy these food items. Firstly due to the curiosity of trying out food from foreign land people tend to get into the venture of buying it. For instance the delicacies from china, Italy and other countries are much prominently and easily available all over the world. Secondly the international food items are easily available in nearby supermarkets and also at very affordable rates. Hence, due to easy availability and reduced rates people tend to buy these products more. In order to increase the consumption of locally produced food items, the government can reduce the taxes and local charges applied on the local food items. According to a survey, because of reduced taxes there was an increase of 8% in the goods and items of local companies. Furthermore, instead of having long lasting preserved food, which might contain added preservatives, people could be encouraged to consume healthy and fresh food which contain less chemicals produced by local vendors. Consequently the consumption of local food will increase. To conclude, the people are interested in trying out the continental food because of the easy availability and less cost. Although by reducing food related taxes and other taxes on items plus spreading awareness regarding the healthy food intake can increase the sales of local food companies.