In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility.

Healthy citizens are a major factor in a country's development. Developed nations are facing an obesity epidemic. One can argue, that the government should take necessary steps to curb this problem. I agree that the government should aware more people about a healthy lifestyle and take ownership. Firstly, children are becoming obese and unhealthy because of increasing adulteration in food. Although this might not be the only problem, but it is a major one. For example, foods are frequently tested positive for lead and mercury in developing countries. These pollutant attack our metabolism and kills gut bacteria, hence increasing weight. In addition, recent studies have shown the link between lead consumption and cancer. Government should increase the penalty on food business found adulterating. Also, there should be frequent visits by the health inspector on all food businesses and restaurants. Secondly, in developing countries, health is more dependent on factors which government can control. For instance, clean water, minimal pollution and proper medicines. If we look at India, the most common diseases are polio, dengue and malaria. All of these can be controlled by proper measure taken by the government. For example, awareness programs should be introduced in every state to educate people on these issues. Furthermore, free vaccine camps for children should be run. This can kill diseases at a very young age. To conclude, unless government takes the necessary steps, this problem will only escalate. In order to promote a healthy lifestyle, It is their responsibility to provide each citizen with good food and medicines.