In many countries, an increase in crime has been blamed on violent images on television and in computer and video games. with this opinion?

In many countries, violence on television and in computer and video games as a link to an increase in crime has been widely discussed in recent years. From my perspective, I am not convinced that the violence in the entertainment media is responsible for the increasing crime rate in society. First of all, not any child watching brutalities in movies or games are badly affected. For instance, many children enjoy watching action movies and playing video games with their family members, but they are still fine in terms of their character and personality. The young also understand well that what they see on television and in games are unrealistic things made up just for entertainment purpose; hence, they will not try to imitate such actions. Moreover, children are mostly influenced by the people they grow up with. Therefore, their antisocial behavior or even criminal tendencies may proceed from their parents’ inappropriate demeanor and dissolute friends. Research indicates that the majority of criminals come from underprivileged families in which parents are uneducated. In some cases, many offenders admit having participated out of their friends’ enticement. Opponents may argue that entertainment media is the root cause of the increase in crime rate. However, there is probably no concrete evidence for that fact. Also, in a great number of regions, the high crime rate often results from some other reasons such as poverty and political instability. Obviously, violence in games and movies can not be held responsible for the increase in crime. To sum up, there is a variety of contributory factors in the development of crime commitment. Therefore, the entertainment media cannot be considered the main cause of increasing crime rate in community.