In many countries, an increase in crime has been blamed on violent images on television and in computer and video games.

There is no doubt that crime has risen worldwide. In some nations, it is considered that TV programmes and videogames with violent content are to blame for this increasing trend. This essay partly agrees with that statement because, although exposure to those type of images can contribute to the rise in crimes, I believe that other factors must be taken into account as well. To begin with, violent TV shows and videogames can contribute to the increase in crime by desensitising people. In other words, by watching repeatedly bad behaviour and violent images, people start to think that those are normal and that they are entitled to follow those conducts, despite the suffering of the victims. For instance, research has shown that children who spend long hours playing videogames involving guns and killings are prone to become intolerant, aggressive and apathetic to other children’s needs. In consequence, exposure to violent scenes can have a negative effect on people’s behaviour. Nevertheless, criminality is a complex subject, and media exposure is not the only element linked to its rise. Another influencing factor is substance abuse, such as alcohol, psychotropic pills and illegal drugs. It is well documented how these substances can impair mental health and re-enforce misconducts. In addition, in order to afford their consumption, drug addicts often participate in other criminal activities. For example, an Alcoholic person can end up losing his/her job because of the repercussions of alcohol in his/her life and behaviour. This, in turn, can stimulate him to steal in order to support his consumption and living. In conclusion, in my view, TV programmes and violent videogames can encourage people to commit crimes. However, other factors, such as substance abuse, can contribute to increase criminal offences.