In many countries, an increase in crime has been blamed on violent images on television and in computer and video games.

Governments have always been looking for the roots of the crime so they would be able to mitigate the offence rate in society. In some nations, it is considered that TV programmes and video games with violent content are to blame for this increasing trend. This essay will discuss that although exposure to violent images can contribute to the rise in crimes, other factors must be taken into account as well. There is no doubt that violent TV shows and video games can be contributed to the growth of the crime by sensitization. Indeed, these programs and games can operate, such as a stimulus to motivate the aggressive and offensive sense which is existed in everyone's subconscious. For instance, the result of a study indicates that students who spend long hours to watch violent movies or play games involving guns and killing show more bullying behaviors rather than their peers. In consequence, exposure to violent scenes can have a negative effect on people’s behaviour. Forasmuch as criminality is a complex subject, so TV show and video games are not the only elements linked to its rise. Economic issues play an important role in the formation of crimes and social deviations so that unemployment leads to poverty, and there is a significant relationship between poverty, unemployment and increasing crime and violence in the country. Unemployment is another influencing factor in the emergence of crime. The findings suggest that unemployment is at the root of many crimes as it exacerbates poverty, and in some cases leads many crimes. Hence, some factors are contributed to emerging crime excepting media exposure. This essay discussed that while violent images on television and in computer and video games might encourage people to commit the crime, other factors like unemployment and poverty can be effective to rise criminal offences. So, I partly agree with the impact of violent scenes on television and movies or video games.