In many countries, an increase in crime has been blamed on violent images on television and in computer and video games.

Violence on TV, in social media and video games have been, in many countries, associated with a higher rate of crime. Passive absorption of violence conducted by others may be a trigger for some. However, the majority of our population stays immune to it and would never turn into a criminal. Everyone in our society is passively exposed to some violence. Not only to the violence we experience through the screen, but as well to the one we are daily witnessing on the street, work floor, school or even at home. There is no doubt that it has an impact on our perception of the world and on our thoughts. Nevertheless, people do not turn into a violent person just because they have seen something. It is proven that other factors, for example, alcohol and drug abuse, low socioeconomic status, are highly correlated with crime. On the other hand, people and especially children should be taught that violence in their video games and a real life are two separate things. Being educated at a young age about possible consequences of violent behavior is essential. It gives an individual a chance to think about their actions and prevents unfortunate situations. Furthermore, the parents can monitor and limit the TV and gaming time of their children. Fighting crimes and applying prevention measures should be prioritized. In general, people spend a lot of their free time on a computer, watching TV or gaming. However, the increasing trend of violent crimes cannot be blamed solely on exposition to violent images.