Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. with this opinion?

With the globalization, there is a decreasing number of the cultures; additionally, people have forgotten the meaning behind the festivals. Some maintain that nowadays people have celebrated the festivals just to enjoy themselves but don't know the context behind it. I similarly believe this and my reasons are twofold. For those who assert that it is not forgotten, the most important point is that some festivals became more popular and also became a tourist attraction, which means that there will be more and more people know it. However, an increasing number of people participating in those festivals do not mean that they will try to understand and remember the meaning of the festivals. One example of this can be seen in the Dragon Festival. With technology development, it has taken the western countries by storm; nevertheless, most foreigners still do not know its origin and its importance for Chinese. Therefore, it is evident that the history of the minorities' tradition vanished gradually. First of all, it is an undeniable fact that some specific historical event has been famous due to the internet development; nonetheless, for those minorities, their history is forgotten gradually. One reason is assimilation. A case in point is that some can't help but forget their tradition and custom in order that it is easier to adapt themselves to a culture belonging to the majorities. Another reason why people forget it is that some languages are vanishing. It makes young adults alienate their tradition. For instance, in my country, there is a trend that it is difficult to communicate between the elder and the young adults because the elder only speaks dialect but the young adults can not. Therefore, it contributes to alienation. In conclusion, above reasons elucidate the phenomenon why people have forgetten the meaning behind the festivals.