A lot of money is spent on repairing old buildings. Instead of repairing old buildings that money should be spent on knocking down old buildings and building new ones.

Old buildings require large sums of money to be repaired. It is considered by some people that they should be demolished and new one erected. In this essay I will explain the reasons why I agree with this view, but I also think that some buildings should be conserved for future generations. Certainly, it is true that cities are constantly growing due to the migration of people from rural areas and there is scarce of land for constructing new buildings. The old houses were built from long -lasting materials and large amounts of money are needed for their reparation. It seems more reasonable and cost effective to pull them down and build new ones. Another point is that the old houses were smaller compared to ones that are being constructed today in order to better use the land and provide accommodation to a larger number of people. Furthermore, in the inner city skyscrapers are being erected because the land is extremely expensive and high buildings can offer offices to great number of companies. By contrast, there are buildings which are highly valuable and must be preserved for future. In particular, buildings which are of great architectural value or those of historic importance regarding their role in the past. To illustrate this, there is an example of the old pub more than 200 years old in the centre of the city, which was planned by the authorities to be knocked down to make place for the new building. A campaign was raised by dwellers in order to protect the building of the utmost significance for our culture due to its specific architecture, and the authorities had to give up. In conclusion, it appears to me that the most effective way of solving the issue of old buildings is to pull them down and make way for new houses. However, buildings of architectural value and historic places should be properly maintained and repaired for future generations.