In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the concept of town planning is introduced to better facilitate the inhabitants. The idea is to allocate a proper area for each and every segment. This divides schools, hospitals and offices to its distinctive places resulting in a managed city. However, this result in increased travel time for the community and also the administrative expenses that the community has to pay. Though, I believe the benefits certainly outweigh the demerits. A planned city is a better place to live a peaceful life because residents enjoy the basic facilities. People are conscious about comfort and security while preferring residence. They want to give their children’s best living environment. For example, Bahria Town is considered the best residential area in Pakistan. They have segregated parks, hospitals and residential areas from each other. They develop their society away from industrial areas to keep the area clean from pollution. They also claim that they provide best healthy environment for their residents. However, there is an argument among the few that this development has increased the living expenses of an individual. The travel time to go to school, offices or hospitals has increased. Similarly, the authorities are now charging for the facilities they are providing in their vicinity. Resultantly, we have seen an increase in living expenses for the residents. For example, Bahria Town has certain charges of security, maintenance and club memberships which they collect from their customers on a monthly basis. Though, to live a peaceful and secure life many consumers are willing to pay such expenses in order to give a healthy lifestyle to their families. To conclude, daily living expenses for community has increased in shape of travelling, accommodation, security and entertainment. Now, the householder has to pay an additional amount to avail the facilities. However, inhabitants prefer to bear such expenses because their consideration is to give best living facility to the family to nurture them in a better way. In this regard, the advantages are more important then the disadvantages of town development.