Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Others believe that it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them.

Some people find it convenient to go for friends who share the same opinions as them because it is easier to communicate in the same language rather than always having to explain the reason behind their thinking. They don’t want to have to go through the pressure of over-explaining themselves which they find irritating. In some cases, it might be as a result of experience where an issue arose, and a consensus could not be reached due to a disagreement that ensued because they feel they know best and only their opinion should be considered. In other cases, most people believe it is beneficial to have friends occasionally disagree with them as it fosters growth and sustain the friendship. A typical example is when one friend thinks it is okay to put their feet up on the seat in front of them in the movie theatre because it is more relaxing, and the other disagrees because it is morally wrong. They can share their difference in opinion, but it helps them see from each other’s perspective which sometimes make them respectfully agree to disagree. My opinion on this would be to have friends who sometimes disagree with each other. This will encourage open-mindedness and help them see reasons from each other’s perspective. Following a disagreement every now and then, after viewing each other’s standpoint, they will come to an understanding which will further build up the friendship. Also, I think it will help friends respect each other’s point of view.