In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, many city developers always try to consider each part of the city for individual purpose. While some locations might be appropriate for education, the other one can be suitable to be residential areas. I personally agree with this method, although it might have had some drawbacks. On the one hand, considering this plan by the city planners can have some negative consequences. One is that it can enhance traffic congestion inside of cities. For instance, those students living in peripheral areas have to travel several kilometres each day to reach their school, being mainly constructed in the central of cities; therefore, the number of commuters may escalate dramatically. Another reason behind it is that people living in rural areas have less access to appropriate facilities. For example, if they like to purchase furniture for their home, they cannot find them in the small retailers near their home. They have to spend hundreds of dollars for their transportation, while dwellers living in sprawling cities have a better access to these items. On the other hand, having this plan in urban areas, I believe that it will avoid overpopulation in specific locations. One important factor is that the more factories are moved to suburb areas, the more workers prefer to live near them, instead of living in the central of cities. In particular, in Tehran, the capital city of Iran, had not the government permitted large companies to have a function in the centre, more citizens would have moved to live in the countryside, leading them to faceless the overpopulation problems. Furthermore, it can decrease the level of pollution in cities. Obviously, the more shops or offices operate in cities, the more they pollute the environment. As a result, in many countries, governments have considered specific regions for these markets. In this case, in Vancouver, the government of BC has considered a huge place for shops near the airport, which is located outside of the metropolitan zone. This will reduce the pollution caused by these businesses far significantly. In conclusion, although some may agree that each region should not be allocated for specific purposes, I completely agree with it. This not only can reduce the density of population but the amount of pollution in the central areas of urban.