In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon.

Statistics show that people are living longer now than they used to in previous centuries. There are several reasons for this and the improvement in treatment and in medical science in the main reason for that longer life expectancy. I will point out a few of them below. First of all, a few hundred years ago mankind suffered from many different kinds of diseases which are very well cured now. The achievements of contemporary medicine allow people to live with artificial arms, hands, legs and even hearts. Recently I read a few articles in the magazines about a man with an implanted artificial heart and a woman who had an implanted chipset in her head to make her happier. Additionally, many viruses are defeated nowadays with the modern vaccines and many pills help us to relieve pain. Second of all, the conditions of lives are greatly improved. A man chiefly does not have to sleep on the wet and cold ground, defense himself from predators in the wild forests and fight for his life. The wide extension of fast food stands, buffets and restaurants give people the opportunity to have full and nutritious meals whenever they need to. Many entertaining centres offer a wide variety of services where you can leave your troubles behind and just relax. Again, the technological advancement like the Internet has made the information available to many people. People no longer need to consult a doctor to know about a disease and cure. People can surf the internet themselves and can get some medical advice they require to get fit.   But the longer life span does not come automatically unless people start living a healthy life. The modern world gives the opportunity to live a healthy life if someone wants to have one. All of these things mentioned above allow people to maintain a healthy lifestyle, spend more time with his family and friends and make their life longer and happier.