In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon.

It is believed that the average life expectancy of people is longer these days, compared to the past. There are various reasons that have caused the situation and the following essay will discuss them in details. Firstly, there are various types of medicines that have been found by medical scientists nowadays which have saved many lives. These medicines have been proven that they could cure serious diseases which have killed millions of people in the past. For instances, with the invention of penicillin in the 20th century, it was proven that it could heal the infected wound. Consequently, the mortality rate due to infection had decreased significantly in the last century. Secondly, people are living longer due to they are better educated nowadays. Many governments have realised the need of higher education for their people; therefore they provided free education until secondary school. With this positive development, the number of illiterate people has declined, and many of them have read and understood the standard of healthy living. For example, many women now understand the process of delivering a baby, whereas they should have a routine visit to their doctors and understand the types of food that they should consume. As a result, the mortality rate of women has been declining drastically in the past few decades. In conclusion, it is a fact that people are living longer these days. There are many factors that affect to the phenomenon, but in my personal opinion, the top two main factors are advance medical research and better education.