Some people prefer to work for themselves or own a business. Others prefer to work for an employer. Would you rather be self-employed, work for someone else, or own a business?

Several people choose to be self-employed rather than becoming a professional employee, while others decide to be a professional or an entrepreneur. Each of the choices has its own positive and negative things, but in my personal opinion, I prefer to be an employee, since it has the lowest risk. To begin with, some people have decided to be self-employed. They prefer to do that because they do not like to be regulated by any procedures, or being governed by under companies' regulation. Examples of the self-employed jobs are professional actors, athletes, freelancers, or other kinds of art performers. While others prefer to be an entrepreneur because they feel that by opening a new business, it brings a lot benefits for themselves and societies. Should the new business run smooth and in accordance with the business plan, the owner should get a lot of profits. And then, it will create job opportunities for the communities as well. However, these two choices have their own weaknesses. As a self-employed person, there is no guarantee that they will get a sustainable income, as they are paid in accordance with their performances. While as a business owner, it is obvious that there are a lot of risks for them such as the risk of bad debt, foreign exchange fluctuation and bankruptcy. On the other hand, some people dislike being a professional worker. They feel that they have limited and restricted time, and sometimes the workload is also unreasonable. However, many people do not realise that becoming an employee has the lowest risk ever. They will have steady income through their monthly salaries, despite that their companies might be performing poorly. And then they would have additional benefits from the company such as medical allowance, annual leaves and company cars as well. Lastly, companies are also paying the retirement fund for their employees as well. Therefore, the advantages of being an employee outweighed the disadvantages. In conclusion, it is a fact that people have different options about work. Some people choose to open their own business, while others prefer to be self-employed or work in an organisation. After measuring the benefits and drawbacks, I personally prefer to be a professional employee, since it has the lowest risk.