In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

While some people are more driven and persistent as students or workers, others seem to be relaxed and satisfied with what they are having. Personally, I believe that there are various reasons leading to the hard work ethic; while it is desirable up to a point, too much work will exert detrimental effects on the overall health. One fundamental reason is that people are pressurized by the expectations of their families and the society. In Vietnam, for example, failing to exhibit spectacular academic performance, students may be penalized for such failures. Another reason is the determination to escape from the poverty and create a completely new life. Leading an impoverished life is incredibly challenging, which is a stimulus to the diligence in the workplace or at school. The last reason is that they have found their particular interests in and passions for the fields in which they are working. This explains why they feel considerably more motivated, enjoyed, and willing to dedicate the whole life to exploring what they deeply love. People can reap a multiplicity of benefits from being hard-working. In the realm of education, students with studious habits are more likely to be academic high-flyers and be admitted to top-notch institutions. Likewise, in an employment setting, industrious and committed workers stand much higher chances to rise to the top and become the leaders of teams or the managers of companies. Nevertheless, the strong desire for hard work has become an unhealthy obsession among some people. Indeed, taking an excessive workload can result in somatic and psychological problems such as headaches, backaches, and distress. In conclusion, people in different situations have different reasons to work hard to achieve their personal goals. Although working hard is beneficial in some aspects, people work very long hours, to the detriment of their health.