In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

The Western tradition of living in a retirement home is commonly practiced by people of advanced years. The old British frequently cannot afford such a costly way of living and medical care. The government supporting the idea of welfare state can take responsibility for the older generation in exceptional cases. However, family support of older people is a natural part of society education required for its future prosperity and survival. Primarily, the assumption of governmental support of the elderly is rooted in the ideas of the common good and social state. Following these principles, public authority finance retirement houses so that they could take care of old people, although this is quite limited. The reasons for that are twofold. Firstly, the absolute state care about its citizens leads to excessive paternalism and deformation of people’s moral and ability to adapt. The experience of the Soviet Union demonstrates futility of totalitarian social policy that in fact was regulatory intervention into people’s private lives. That resulted in the loss of impetus to develop personality and create new products and ideas because people knew about the guarantee to have pension and protection. Secondly, full funding is simply impossible since the government does not have unlimited resources. It ought to defend the idea of social justice, but support of old people is only one of the numerous needs which deserve to be met. Obviously, Hobbesian Leviathan should only concern about wants of those who were forgotten by the society, especially by their relatives. Besides, historically, people living in one household as a family have always supported each other. The natural instinct of human beings is to look after the individuals with whom they live under one roof and share common roots. As parents take care of their children, the latter are to help their old relatives or, at least, to assign this duty to special institutions. This is crucial because, by doing that, people are taught a lesson of socialisation, humanity and mutual support. Children adopt these ideals, and there is a chance that nobody will be left without support in the afternoon of life. The value of the lessons we gain from taking care of our parents is underestimated. Humanity will lead to cooperation, which has helped people overcome struggles at all times. To sum up, care of the elderly can be financed from both government and family members’ budgets. However, public support should not prevail. Its purpose is to aid those who cannot get help from their families. Otherwise, state can exhaust its resources and people will be left with incentives perverted by paternalism policy. By contrast, care from the family develops kindness, understanding and increases a chance to get help in the future from those who observe it today.