Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries, but its disadvantages should not be overlooked.

For many countries, tourism is the primary source of income. Even though this growth in tourism helps to increase the cash flow into the nation, it has numerous negative effects as well. I firmly believe that these downsides must be dealt with appropriately; otherwise, they would have detrimental effects on the environment and the local culture and lifestyles. Sensitive ecological places are severely affected by the pollution caused by visitors. Tourists usually travel in hired taxis or private cars resulting in increased air pollution in the region. They also leave behind both biodegradable and non-biodegradable waste like leftover food, plastic bottles, wrappers etc. The noise created by humans may upset some of the fragile flora and fauna. For example, the green hills of the famous Ooty region are now filled with plastic bags and wastes left by the tourists. Hence, proper pollution control measures should be taken to avoid permanent destruction of the environment. In addition, conflicts may occur between natives and tourists if the latter fail to respect local culture and traditions. For example, many countries especially those in Asia are highly conservative and if visitors conduct themselves in manners that violate the local customs, natives may feel offended and this can even threaten the safety of the tourists. In conclusion, it is certainly true that international tourism benefits national economies. However, its downside such as environmental deterioration and increased risk of conflicts between locals and tourists cannot be ignored.