In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In the recent time, the number of old people who lives in an old age home has been increasing. Some people think family should bear the cost of old people, while others argue that the government should take responsibility of older people. However, I agree that authorities should take charge for the expenditure. The first reason why the government should pay for the cost of a nursing home because some families cannot afford the bills of the caretakers. In some countries, the government is providing pension schemas to senior citizens. However, government should arrange the medical facilities for the elderly people because sometimes medical treatments cannot afford by the old people. Also, in nursing homes there are trained staff who can better look after the old ones. Moreover, in the current scenario, most of the families are working and children cannot look after the elder people very well. Being alone whole day, old ones will feel lonely and in nursing homes, there will be other people of their age group where they can spend time peacefully. Many families run away from their duties not only financially but also from support and cares the old ones need at this age. At this point of time, I believe government should take steps to help senior citizens and provide funds for the old age lives. To conclude, i would like to mention that not only union but the citizens of the nation should provide support for better lifestyle of the old people. They have served their whole life and payed taxes, now young generation should put efforts to keep them happy during their old life.