In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Senior citizens in Britain usually reside in elders' homes, and in certain instances they are funded by the government. All citizens during their youth contribute to state funds through taxes, and also, certain families are not able to afford elders' homes which they are well deserved. Therefore, the authorities should take up the responsibility of the elders in the country and provide them with a comfortable life when they are weak and in need. Every individual pay taxes from their earnings, directly or indirectly during their life. Even though the contribution would not be the same by all individuals, it is more or less the same percentage of their income. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the authorities to take care of the people who contributed to finance the developments in the country. They could be coming from various backgrounds; however, the state should make sure to treat every senior citizen equally, providing them with the best healthcare and service facilities. Moreover, with the increase in the cost of living, most families struggle to live their day to day lives. Despite how concerned they are about their family members, they might not have the luxury to afford a state of the art elders' homes for their parents or grandparents. Similarly, certain elders might not have descendents to care for them. In my opinion, elders should be looked after well by the government, no matter what their social status is. Relevant authorities should ensure that all elders' homes are up to the same standards and all residents are well taken care of.